Gettin’ Muddy

I completed my WIP’s rough draft just over a week ago! I’m very excited about it and I know there’s a lot of work to be done, but I am currently on vacation visiting some family and friends, most of whom I haven’t seen in 2 1/2 years! It’s the break I’ve needed.
So, naturally–even while on vacation–I’m chomping at the bit to start the rewrites. But I have to tell myself to let it sit for a while.
It has to simmer.
All of those mistakes need to bubble up to the surface so when I go back I can see all of them instantly. That’s when the rewrite process can begin for me. That’s when my fresh eyes can sort through the muck and start sloshing through it.
It’s hard to wait, though. I’m sure I’ll be back at it sooner than later.
Meanwhile, I sloshed through literal muck at the very start of my vacation—

997715_10201386240880771_780607428_o

A few of my best friends (2 seen above) have become very active in fitness and weight loss goals, and they have fallen in love with running. I usually have spurts of fitness. I will get on a kick and stay with it for a while then fall off the wagon, hit my head, and it will take me a month to catch the wagon again. The treadmill is typically my go-to method (and spin bike). I haven’t been involved in many outdoor ‘official’ events. These events and runs have been around for years and I have not had any cause to partake in the torture. But now it seems they are happening more often and are involving more than just your average pavement-pounding 5K, 10K, marathon monotony. They have shticks! And these shticks are FUN! And they are often for charities, too! They are being held all over– Zombie runs, color runs, mud runs, foam runs…the list goes on!
My friends and I ran in the 5mile Muckfest MS. It’s a run to raise money for Multiple Sclerosis. It was challenging and fun, and an awesome way to help a great cause.
I’ll surely do some more in the future!

So what about you?
What kind of muck do you prefer?
Do you have a method for rewrites?
Do you like to play in the mud?

~Jen

2 thoughts on “Gettin’ Muddy

  1. schroder717 says:

    I am so grateful we were able to “muck” together! What a great time and some awesome memories!
    I know when you come back with fresh eyes, you will tackle this rewrite and make this book your bitch!!!

Leave a Reply

