Aden’s POV

Aden quote

SO . . . I was going to try and rally some love for my FB author page, but I am failing horribly in my self-pimping abilities. I’m kind of bad at the social thing. Just throw me in there and I’ll take the social right out of media. Regrettably, in real life, too.
Anyway, I digress from the topic of my social ineptitude. I decided to write an entire chapter/scene from Caly’s Piece in Aden’s POV to try and get more likes on Facebook. I’ve failed at this. But that is perfectly fine because it’s not really about the likes. I wanted to have some fun! And I did! I really enjoyed flipping Caly’s Piece and climbing inside Aden’s head for a short time. It was a blast to write this scene!
For those familiar with Caly’s Piece- I chose chapter 16. You’ll have to go back and tell me what you think after you read both. Or even if you only read this one, let me know. I’d love to hear your thoughts.
For people who haven’t read Caly’s Piece- this may clue you into a big part of the story, but that’s okay! I hope that this intrigues you enough to read the whole story from Caly’s POV!

***Disclaimer: This is unedited material and could potentially hurt your head. I am not liable for any headaches. I also am not liable for any harm that you inflict upon yourself from any possible grammar mistakes you spot. Thanks for reading***

Without further ramblings, here it is:

Aden-

Pop was driving me insane. He kept talking to me from the porch and I kept shooting down his conversations with clipped answers while I attempted to relax on my bottom bunk. I didn’t want to deal with anything or anyone right now, least of all Tara, which is why I was hiding out in the cottage. I needed more time to think about this past week’s events, and the morning proved too short for resolution. I even added another mile to my early run, but it didn’t clear my head. The argument Caly and I had at the boardwalk yesterday weighed so heavily on my mind I couldn’t shake it. All I wanted to do was to talk to her, break the five years of silence between us, and yet I managed to screw it up by apologizing to her for Tara. I was such an idiot. Caly had every right to be pissed off at me.

“Aden. It’s important,” Pop called to me from the porch again. “You need to go let Ava know that dinner’s at five-thirty instead of six.”

I stood up and walked out beside him, giving up hope that he’d leave me alone. He was sitting in the chair with his binoculars, staring down the beach. “She’ll probably stop back in before then. Why should I go tell her now?”

He kept his eyes pressed inside the eye pieces. “Because I said so.”

Nice. “Okay, thanks for the clarification.”

He shrugged. When I stepped outside, I glanced next door inside Caly’s porch. “She’s with Caly, swimming out in front of the boardwalk,” Pop said with the binoculars still glued to his eyes.

Great. I stepped into the alley and muttered, “Thanks for that, too.”

Walking the road seemed like the best option to avoid Tara. I stuck close to the cottages, ready to duck into an alley if I saw her coming. It was a good plan until she snuck up from behind.

Her floppy beach hat scrunched against the back of my head while she grabbed my sides and kissed the back of my neck. “Hey,” she said, falling in step beside me while Lydia stayed behind us. “Look I know things have been crazy lately, but you promised to go to my mom’s charity dinner tonight. My parents are expecting you to come.”

I hated that she hadn’t apologized to Caly for ditching her over at Turkey Point. Our fight the other night proved that she probably never would. She didn’t regret her actions; she played it off as a joke. The fact that she lied to me only added to my irritation today. It was the reason I didn’t want to be out here walking with her now.

“I’ll still go,” I answered, ducking through the next alley. I made a promise and I’d keep it, even though her parents probably didn’t give a shit if I showed or not.

“Yay,” she replied, mocking my unenthusiastic response.

She and Lydia stayed behind me, yacking about what they’d wear later when I spotted Caly and Ava in the water.
“Ava,” I called.

“Yeah? What?” she yelled back when I was closer to the waterline.

I stopped when the cool waves rolled over my feet. “Pop wanted me to tell you that dinner was going to be at five-thirty instead of six.” I watched their heads bob above the water and looked directly at Caly, unsure if I should say anything.

“Thanks. You should probably get back to your friends before they do something stupid,” Ava said with her eyes on the girls behind me. I turned and walked to them, knowing she was right. Tara would do anything to antagonize Ava. And after her “joke” the other day, I knew she’d treat Caly the same way.

The girls messed with their towels, adjusting for the best sunlight as Caly stepped out of the water. She was wearing the same suit as Ava. The fact that they owned the same ridiculous crab-bottomed suit was comical, but I couldn’t laugh. There was nothing funny about her body. It was incredible. Water droplets ran down the curves of her skin as she hurried to her towel. She looked at me, and the moment our eyes met I was rushed with memories of her from all of our summers together. I could stare into her eyes for hours then. I had to pry my eyes away now, looking down at the sand, fearing every feeling that attacked me.

“Oh, look,” Tara said. “They match. How cute.”

“Let’s go,” Ava said to Caly.

I wanted to look back up, but I kept my eyes buried, like my feelings had been until Caly stepped foot back onto this beach.

“Hey,Tara! Let me know when you need a new nose job. I can hook you up really cheap. Maybe even free,” Ava said.

I smiled at Ava’s quip, keeping my head down.
Tara looked at me and smacked my arm. After Ava and Caly walked off toward the pier, Tara asked, “What the hell was that about?”

“What?” I asked, leaning my forearms against my bent knees and twisting a small twig between my fingers.

“You smiled.”

“And? It was funny, Tara. What? You can make fun of Ava but she can’t do that same to you?”

“Well, you weren’t supposed to think it was funny.”

I shook my head. Typical.
Out of the corner of my eye, I noticed Alex jogging up to the pier from the boardwalk. He was up to something. He’d looked far too comfortable next to Caly on our couch last night. I was too pissed to ask him about it this morning, but I needed to make sure he wasn’t making a serious play for her.

I stood up and wiped the sand off my shorts. “I just saw Alex heading to the pier. I’ve got to tell him about dinner,” I said to the girls before making my escape.

“Wait,” Tara said. “We’ll go with you.”

Damn.

I didn’t say a word on the walk to the pier. The girls talked about tonight then lowered their voices when their topic changed to Caly and Ava. I debated bagging my idea of confronting Alex. I didn’t want Tara starting any trouble with the girls, but I knew she wouldn’t cross any lines unless someone else did first so I kept walking. Plus, I needed answers, and I refused to wait until later to get them.

Caly, Alex and Ava were standing on the dirt driveway toward the end of the pier.
Alex had his arm draped over Caly’s shoulders. As we approached, he squeezed tighter, pulling her body closer to his. “Hey, brother,” he said to me. “What are you up to? I haven’t seen you all morning. It was almost like you were hiding in the cottage after your morning run. So glad you decided to come out.”

I glared at him and caught Caly’s eye.

“Is that where you were all morning? I thought you had to go into town with Alex?” Tara asked me as she and Lydia looked over the edge of the pier to the rocks below. I could hear the waves splashing against them, ready to consume them completely with the changing tide.

“Hi, Alex,” Lydia squeaked, ignoring Caly under his arm.

“Hey,” Alex replied blandly with a nod.

Caly slipped out of Alex’s grip and moved to the other side of the pier, followed by Ava.
I kept my eyes on Alex, who watched Caly’s backside with interest. I couldn’t ignore the heat that rose inside me while he stared at her. Tara and Lydia moved past us. I was irritated that they were following Caly and Ava, knowing they’d start talking smack, but it couldn’t have been better timing. I needed Alex alone to get answers.

“Man, Caly has really grown up, right?” Alex said to me, keeping his eyes toward the other side of the pier. The trees and the broken cement partitions obstructed most of our view of the girls.

I wondered what he was playing at. He didn’t like girls our age; he always went for women. Under his usual standards, they had to be at least four years his senior. It’d been his rule ever since middle school.
“What’s up?” I finally asked.

He looked back at me. “Not much. Hanging out. You know, the usual.” He shrugged with a smirk. “What’s up with you?”

I smirked also. He was dancing around the subject and I wanted to know why. “So, you and Caly, huh? I would have never thought you’d be interested in anything less than a cougar.”

“Maybe I’m for equal rights. I’ve grown up. My tastes have changed a bit.”

“Since last week?”

“What can I say?” He glanced over toward the girls. “I can’t turn down someone as fine as her. She’s changed since she’s been away, in a very nice way. Have you looked at her ass lately? An apple bottom like that makes me want to start eating the four suggested servings of fruit a day.”

I forced a laugh. He was antagonizing me, but I had no idea why. What could possibly be his reason? “Give it up, Alex.”

“What, Aden?”

I shook my head. “You aren’t fooling me or anyone else, dipshit.”

“Aren’t I? I can’t say I know what you mean. I’m a smitten fool, though. That girl has no idea what she’s doing to me. Wait, is that jealousy I see in your stiff posture, brother? Do you still have a ‘thing’ for Caly? Are you craving apple pie?” He laughed.

“Just admit it, Alex.”

You admit it, Aden,” he said, laughing again with a stupid grin on his face.

I wanted to remove that grin by knocking out a few of his teeth. He was lucky I settled for a stiff arm to his chest instead. He grabbed my hand as he stumbled backward, pulling us both over the edge of the pier.

Alex released his grip when we fell. I pushed both of my hands in front of my face just as I broke the water’s surface. I waited other body parts to break against the rocks; luckily, I only grazed one with the side of my head. My body cut through the rest of the murky bay water until my hands found the sandy bottom. I gripped the sand with my fingers, anchoring my body. The water pressed my ears with the silence of depth. I held the breath in my lungs, concentrating on the only thing I could hear─my heart beat as it slowed.

Alex never admitted to lying about his actions toward Caly. He could’ve been telling the truth, though it was a truth I didn’t want to face. But I knew all of this wasn’t his fault, even if he liked her. It was all me. All of the memories of Caly and I together were returning, and they were relentless.

I heard another splash from above so I released my fingers and let the waves rock me as I floated up. I kept my face down when I reached the surface, prolonging the truth, knowing I’d have to start making decisions that were bound to hurt someone.
A hand grabbed at my arm and spun my body around, startling me. I lifted my head and reached for the cut on my temple. I looked at who had a hold of my other arm under the water. Caly.

How’d she get into the water?

“He’s alive!” Alex yelled sarcastically from the rocks.

“What the hell happened?” Ava asked still standing on the pier beside Tara and Lydia.

Caly was co close to me. Drops of water ran down her cheeks and others rolled over her lips. Our eyes met and my heart beat quickened again, remembering all the times we’d spent in this same trance. It always ended with her sweet lips on mine.

“We had some words,” Alex answered Ava. “Now can someone help me out of this crack before I get swallowed by a catfish?”

Our silent connection broke when Caly released my arm and turned to swim to the rocks.
I refused to climb back up the rocks near Alex. The chance of me actually hitting him was greater if I stuck around any longer. It didn’t matter if he was serious about pursuing Caly or not. He pissed me off.

The swim to shore was quick, but not quick enough; Tara and Lydia caught up with me despite my effort to leave without them. I walked along the water’s edge, kicking the waves lightly, ignoring Tara’s recount of what occurred at the pier.

I knew I had to go out to dinner with Tara tonight, but my mind was focused on escaping at some point to talk to Caly. I needed to be around her. I needed to find out if she was feeling the same way. The look in her eyes today told me a lot, but I needed more. I needed to hear it in her voice.
Maybe I just needed her.

Hope you enjoyed reading Aden!
Want to share your thoughts?
Leave me a comment and come visit me on FB (still trying to be social).

~Jen

Leave a Reply

